GRID CODE – Certification and Testing Process for all European Market

Grid codes are basically the response requirements of each country in case of abnormal frequency or voltages in the grid connection points, requirements in terms of grid quality and fault ride through.

In this sense, it’s possible to face several grid codes at the same time using the synergies between them to optimize the testing process.

Since 2016, all the European grid codes have a common requirement based on the European Regulation EU 2016/631. From CERE we are offering the solution to all the European countries in a single testing round and issuing all individual Test Reports and Certificates.

Elaboration of a unique and tailormade test plan for the product covering all the European requirements, mainly:

🔸 Power vs frequency,

🔸 Active power control,

🔸 Reactive power capabilities,

🔸 Reactive power response

🔸 Voltage and frequency protection

🔸 ROCOF and


The test plan will include all deviations for each of the countries using the synergies to reduce the testing as much as possible and test exclusively the most restrictive requirements.

CERE will issue a single test report for each country and based on the test report, the certification department will issue a single certificate for each of the countries in Europe.

In the following graphic, we can see the approximated discount based on the most restrictive standard.

On the first circle, we have Spain and Germany, which are the two most restrictive requirements in Europe.

In a second line, we have the European regulation together with Italy and UK, in where a 15% of the work could be reduced based on synergies with Spain and Germany.

And finally the other countries, in where a 70% of the work could be saved if all the standards are tested in a single testing round with an optimized test plan.

About us

CERE is an independent testing, simulation, certification and inspection body that was originally set up as a Certification Entity for Renewable Energies in 2015. Our services include technical assessment, inspection, testing, simulation and certification according safety, EMC, grid quality, grid connection requirements, design certification and complete installations certificates.